Change?

Anyone can change.

It’s never too late.

These are phrases we hear over and over again meant to be words of motivation or encouragement. While it can be easy to change physical aspects of ourselves, such as a new hair colour or new wardrobe, inner reflection – a change from within requires a greater mental effort.

A strange aftereffect throughout this minimalism journey is that I feel I’ve learned a lot about myself. I know that sounds cheesy and cliche, but mentally I feel like i’m in a different place than where I was a year – even a few months ago. While I’ve always been pretty decisive with my decision making (a very un-Libra like trait) I feel as though I’ve almost solidified my own personal likes and dislikes. This isn’t to say that every inner reflection has been a positive one. I’ve also become aware of some very unattractive personality traits; what’s worse is when thinking back to past situations, I can see that they have existed for quite a while. Though awareness is the first step to bring about change, doubt may be my downfall. As much as I want to immediately eliminate these unpleasant traits, that nagging question remains ever present in the back of my mind…Is it too late? Will I be able to change?

5 comments

  1. I’ve been on the edge of the minimalist life, my style has started moving that way, and my mind set is definitely there, and I understand how it can help solidify your likes and dislikes. I guess you could say I’m having trouble with the down sizing. I’m not a big spender, and I’m picky on what I spend my money on, so I have that going for me, but I tend to collect things, like book, empty journals, clothing, boots, craft supplies… and that’s where my minimalist fails.

    1. I’m the same way! I definitely have my own vices as well, specifically nail polish, skin care, tea and shoes. Some weeks I just want to go out an immediately buy this one specific thing but soon enough I want something else and the cycle just continues. I’ve been able to talk myself out of a lot of purchases or at the very least hold off on buying something but it definitely takes effort. The hardest thing for me is being happy with/enjoying what you have and reminding yourself that even if you can’t find the exact product again you’ll be able to find something similar at a later point in time

        1. haha thats definitely part of my problem with nail polishes! I’ve given away a bunch of colours that I don’t wear anymore so I have some extra room in the basket I store them in, its hard not to fill it right back up again!

Leave a Reply

