First Impressions: MAC Mineralized Skinfinish Natural- Medium Dark

I’m surprised I haven’t mentioned it on this blog before but for a little over a year I’ve been working on reducing the size of my makeup and skincare collection. Now compared to other bloggers and vloggers, even at its largest my collection was still minuscule by comparison. However something happened in April of 2012, my minuscule collection was starting to overwhelm me to the point where I knew things just had to go. And so began my  downsizing process. I did back to back project pan’s followed by an overall project downsize and a purge. I’m almost finished my downsizing process (finally), and have come to the point  where I am completely running out of certain categories and can finally buy and replace my finished products.

Now that that little story is complete lets get on with the post :P. I had always been curious about MAC’s mineralized skinfinish naturals, I had heard such great things about the product and the beautiful finish it left on the skin. However I hesitated, both because of the price ($40 CAD including tax) and MAC’s infamous reputation of their face products causing breakouts on those with sensitive skin. However with as my mineral foundation reaching its last leg I needed a replacement and couldn’t get the MAC out of my mind. By the title of this post you know that I went ahead and bit the bullet! Here are some quick pictures of the product.

mac msf3

DSC_0945

DSC_0944
The shade I purchased was Medium Dark. While in the store, under the bright white lights, Medium Deep looked to be a better colour match. However I’m glad I stuck with my initial instincts, after a quick swatch Medium Dark easily blended into my skin.

I’ve had this powder for less than a week and have used it even less than that so I’m not ready to give a review just yet. When people say this powder has light coverage they weren’t kidding, I can barely see this on my skin! I’ve tried this product with 2 types of brushes so far, a rounded powder brush and a flat top brush, I prefer using the flat top brush (not that it really makes a difference in terms of coverage) but will probably try a couple different brushes just to compare any differences. Although this powder gives virtually no coverage it does give a subtle glow to the skin; I’ve received compliments on my skin the few  days that I’ve been wearing it. I don’t think the product is breaking me out but I have noticed a couple white spots on my face so I can’t be sure just yet.

Haha this turned out to be a very non-conclusive first impressions post! Anyways be on the look out next week for my next first impressions post (its a concealor!)

Leave a Reply

