Pasta with Spinach and Asiago Cheese

Happy Mothers Day to all the mothers out there in the world! Its become a tradition in my house to make homemade pizza for mothers day and fathers day so as you can tell I’m behind on these Food Geek posts! I made this pasta dish sometime ago, *cough* during my blog hiatus *cough* but this is definitely one that I’ll be going back too!

It all started off with a leftover wedge of Asiago, I didn’t know what to make or use it on and so it remained in my fridge. One day while google-ing recipes I came across this one by Giada De Laurentiis. Giada was probably one of the first chefs I came to admire, this was when I first started getting interested in cooking and started watching the Food Network. Although she quickly became my favourite Food Network personality, for some reason I don’t think I’ve made any of her dishes. Well theres a first for everything!

Let me just say if her other recipes are similar to this one I’ll definitely be looking up her recipe repertoire! The smell alone of the asiago, tomatoes and spinach heating over the stove top is amazing, an hour or so after I had finished my meal my housemate came over to ask what I had made; it smelled THAT good. This pasta dish is both light yet creamy and although minimal in number of ingredients the outcome is a complex flavour and aroma that leaves nothing to be desired. I pretty much made this recipe as is, however instead of the fusilli I used bow tie and I finished the dish with a squeeze of lemon juice. Trust me if you try out this recipe you will not be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

