Lunch at the Works!

Went to The Works again, click here to read about my first visit! This time I visited the Oakville location with my sister. It was her first time and I could just tell she loved it. Everything from the menu choices to the decor to the drinks served in measuring cups, she was mesmerized. I got another smoothie, this time it was the  2001 Shake Odyssey that my friend J ordered when I was last there. This milkshake consisted of caramel, peanut butter and oreo cookie crumbs, and it was incredible. I guzzled that baby down so quickly I was tempted to order another one! (this was the kids size which is 8oz)

For a burger I decided on the Crappy Tire, unfortunately the kitchen had just run out of grilled pineapple leaving me a bit frazzled as I contemplated on one of the many other options. In the end I ordered a Malibu Meltdown burger which consists of a crunchy onion ring, beechhouse sauce, havarti, gouda & brie cheese. Delicious! The combination of flavours meld together really well; you might be thinking wow thats a lot of cheese, in which case you would be correct – and was it ever saucy! This burger wasn’t difficult to eat but I would definitely recommend cutting it in half for better control (a tip which was recommended to me by our server! Side note, turns out this is her favourite burger on the menu!) I ordered my burger with a gourmet veggie patty on a whole wheat bun. And of course I had to go back to my original side of choice the spicy die cut chips! Unlike my first experience at The Works, since my burger wasn’t a spicy one, my mouth wasn’t on fire. The spicy-ness of the chips definitely complemented the sauciness of the burger.

My sister ultimately decided on the Three Ring Binder burger which consists of sautéed mushrooms, chipotle mayo, gouda cheese & 3 crunchy onion rings. Funnily enough I had originally almost ordered this burger before changing mine to the Crappy Tire (and than to the Malibu Meltdown) after discovering we were ordering the same thing, clearly we have similar tastes. Apparently we were twin-ing again as she ordered hers with gourmet veggie patty on a whole wheat bun as well.

We both decided to cut our burgers in half and split them so we could each try both burgers, personally I preferred the Malibu Meltdown to this one. The onion rings were delicious, piled high and extra crispy but I found the mushrooms to be a big overwhelming. It also felt like it was missing something, maybe something with some acid or sweetness would have made all the difference. I didn’t dislike this burger but I don’t think it would be one that I would re-order. My sister decided on the Bold Slaw as her choice of side. The menu warns that it contains jalepeno pepper juice and white pepper however if anything this has more of a sweet and sour flavour compared to a spicy one. Again not necessarily a side I would choose myself but hey its another item I can cross off my list 😉

I have plans to go to The Works again this weekend with a friend, so expect another The Works post on Sunday (clearly I’m obsessed!) this post was actually delayed for almost a week (we went last Tuesday) so hopefully that makes me seem less crazy! Since I couldn’t get it the last time I think I’ve already decided on the Crappy Tire burger, hopefully there isn’t  a shortage of grilled pineapple!

One comment

Leave a Reply

