Pitch Perfect

Finally watched this movie! Months and months of praise surrounding this release definitely sparked my interest with this film. However I must admit, when I first saw the previews, I definitely didn’t think this would be my type of movie, somehow I thought it would be a mix between the campiness of glee with the cheesiness of from Justin to Kelly (was I the only one that actually watched that?). Did this movie have its cheesy parts? Yes. However it also had parts that made me gag as well as moments where I literally laughed out loud; something that rarely happens for me with film and television.

The true star of this film is Fat Amy, played by Rebel Wilson. I had previously seen her playing a similar role in Bridesmaids and , and I must say she plays this part extremely well. Its always refreshing to see an over-confident plus sized character as opposed to the shy, self-concious type that is typically portrayed in the media. All my favourite moments of this film include a Fat Amy one-liner, and Rebel Wilson definitely stole the stage whenever she was on screen. I would without hesitation go and see a Fat Amy spinoff movie, her one-liners make the movie (such as the one quoted below) and she provides the much needed comedic relief , rounding out the film.

I’m gonna kill him! I’m gonna finish him like a cheesecake!

 

This film was almost a ‘can you guess who that is’ game, With actors such as Brittany Snow and Anna Camp having roles. Released on October 5th of this past year, Pitch Perfect is directed by Jason Moore (of Avenue Q fame) while the screenplay was written by Kay Cannon, a co-producer over at 30 Rock. The film is about a freshman girl named Beca, played by Anna Kendrick, who dreams of becoming a DJ and moving out to LA but at the moment is forced into high education by her father, an English professor, at his place of work. Beca is almost ambushed into joining the schools female acapella group, The Bellas, who are ravenous for redemption from an embarrassing incident at last years finals. Beca grows increasingly fonder of the Bellas and adds modern music and interesting mixes into their repertoire.

I’ve heard this film mentioned as one that you’d go back to as a pick me up on a bad day, while i’m not saying this is a bad film in any way you won’t be hearing me singing its praises to everyone I meet. The writing and witty one-liners elevated this film from your typical teenage-high school fare; however I found myself wanting more of that witty writing and less of the stereotypical teen angst and hot-and-cold attitude that Beca exuded throughout the majority of the film. However if you’ve got 112 minutes to kill I was pleasantly surprised by the writing and heart of the film. How else could I end this post than another Fat Amy one-liner:

I can sing, but I’m also good at modern dance, olden dance, and mermaid dancing which is a little different. You usually start on the ground.

It’s a lot of floor work.

Leave a Reply

