Poutine

One of the foods almost synonymous with Canada, poutine has become a staple craving in my books. Its funny because in my high school years I was never a big fan of poutine, so much so that I wouldn’t even be able to finish a small on my own. However somehow over the years the combination of fries, gravy and cheese curds make the mouth salivate at the very thought.

Being a vegetarian, it can get a little frustrating when your jonesing for some late night poutine only to find out there isn’t any vegetarian friendly gravy; however with the ever increasing number of vegetarians in the Toronto area this hasn’t been much of an issue recently.

Pictured is a vegetarian deluxe poutine from a university town I was at a while back (I realize my blog hiatus was much too long!) and features hot fries, delicious vegetarian gravy, cheese curds, caramelized onions, mushrooms and peas. Its only 11 am and I’ve already got my poutine craving. I feel the beginning of an obsession coming on…

BTW how do you all like the new layout? Of course theres still a spot for my little moustache man 😉

Leave a Reply

