Film: Ratatouille

Anyone can cook.

A powerful message and one that I wholeheartedly agree with. The way I think of it the phrase anyone can cook can be taken a step further. Anyone can cook, anyone can have style and anyone can be great. Its only the limitations that we put on ourselves, and the expectations that we allow to affect us that hold us down. A strong message coming from an unlikely source.

Ratatouille is one of my favorite Disney movies in general, let alone in my top pixar movies. I recently re-watched the film and thought why not do a movie review? First off a brief synopsis. Ratatouille is a typical french peasant dish consisting of vegetables; onion, eggplant, peppers, zucchini….. oh wait this is about the movie not the dish.

Ratatouille (the food), this also happens to be a great recipe!

Ratatouille (the film) is the 8th film produced by Pixar and was released in 2007. The movie is about a rat (Remy) who has a love of food and dreams of becoming a chef. He has an incredibly developed sense of smell and taste which allows him to create tantalizing flavor combinations. However since he is a rat there are (of course) certain stereotypes that prevent him from becoming a chef. Remy tries to achieve his dream by forming an alliance with a Parisian garbage boy.

Okay, so let’s think this out. You know how to cook, and I know how to… appear human. We just need to work out a system so that I do what you want, in a way that doesn’t look like I’m being controlled by a tiny rat chef – oh will you listen to me I’m insane I’m insane!

As a food lover myself, this movie really spoke to me. The artistry and cinematography are beautiful, the story is quaint and the film has that quintessential french feel. Although the concept is still a bit icky (can you imagine finding all those rats in the kitchen!) I can’t help but get warm and fuzzies whenever I watch this movie.

I will admit that I’m not the biggest fan of all of Pixar and Disney’s films however this is one of the few that I continually watch over and over again. I would absolutely recommend this movie to any food fan, Disney lover or if you just need a quick me up to get you through. 10 stars, 5/5, 2 thumbs up and all of those other rating scales; basically watch it. You won’t regret it.

One comment

Leave a Reply

