Read: Bossypants by Tina Fey

Yes. Those arms ARE scary!

My first Lit Geek post! I’ve been on a reading kick this past month or so for some odd reason. Which is good I guess since I’m finally using my kindle a lot more. I came across Tina Fey’s Bossypants while randomly browsing bestseller lists (you know your into reading when you spend more time looking up bestseller lists than any form of real procrastination on the internet).

I really enjoyed this book. Its more of a series of essays rather than a typical biography however the novel does touch on Tina’s childhood, college life, her earlier days at second city as well as her current job as a producer for 30 rock. There are numerous pictures throughout this book detailing the bad haircuts, bad outfits…and just the downright bad! This is one of those books that I actually laughed out loud while reading.

Is it bad that I start to giggle every time I see this picture?

This book is full of zingers and one liners but they don’t feel forced or contrived. One of my favorite parts of the book is when she mentions the tribulations behind planning her daughter Alice’s Peter Pan themed birthday party, apparently you can’t by peter pan plates!

On Wednesday night, Alice and I drew a picture of Peter Pan to hang up at the party. I explained to her the apparent licensing problem with the plates. She was understanding and suggested we relax by pretending to be Wendy and a mermaid for the next sixty-five minutes.

This is a book I tried to read slowly because I wanted to almost savor it…and that worked…kind of. Instead of finishing this in one sitting (which easily can be done) It took me about 2-3 days, success right?

Here’s an interview Tina did on Ellen promoting her book, some of the things she says are direct quotes from the book so if you enjoy this interview its highly likely that you will like bossypants.

Leave a Reply

